Author Myths: Don’t Believe Everything You Hear

Writers – how many of these have you heard? Hope Ann nails it! 😉

A Writer's Path

by Hope Ann

The writer’s life is surrounded by myths, both inside and out. ‘Oh, you are a writer? You must be rich?’ ‘A writer? Are you a starving artist? I didn’t think you could make any money that way.’ ‘Just write a book and put it out there, it will take off.’

So…yes. Lots of myths. So I decided to collect a few; some from Facebook, some from articles I’ve read, some from things I’ve heard or heard of so much that they are now stuck in my head.

View original post 762 more words

2 thoughts on “Author Myths: Don’t Believe Everything You Hear

  1. Great list! I’d like to make a qualifier/addition based on my own experience (and the advice an extremely successful writer gave me personally). No, you don’t have to write every day. However, you have to treat it like a job, whether it’s full or part time. That means you build the equivalent of weekends, sick days, vacation, etc into your schedule, but on your writing work days you commit yourself to a certain amount of time, ideally at the same time. You’ll be treated more seriously by friends an family that way, too (my husband knows his life will be in danger if I’m writing at home and he interrupts me).
    BTW, for me it works better to write somewhere else. Fewer distractions and that Pavlov’s Dogs thing, I guess.

    • Agreed! But I’ve tried coffee shops, WIFI cafes, parks, and even the Mall… and I really hate malls – but I still am only able to write at home. I’m sure I get distracted by too many shiny objects! 😄

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

Let me know you were here so I can return the visit!

