Forgive Yourself

When you’re spreading kindness, remember to include yourself! 😉

And Then What?

I recently blogged about the Beauty of Forgiveness.

https://ellieholmesauthor.wordpress.com/2017/04/09/the-beauty-of-forgiveness/

That blog spoke about the need to let go of anger and bitterness because nursing old hurts and grievances reverberates negatively within us and ultimately hurts us far more than the original hurt perpetrated against us.

This week I want to talk about forgiveness again but this time a different aspect – forgiving yourself.

We all have instances in our lives where we wish we had said or done something at a particular time but, for whatever reason, we did not. The guilt associated with missed opportunities particularly involving loved ones who are no longer here can be sharp. We know if they were here they would tell us not to worry about it and yet we still beat ourselves up.

Negative Emotions Emotions Explained by GollyGForce courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons licensed by CC BY 2.0 https://flic.kr/p/jp8Yf4 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

I am not a person who generally holds…

View original post 230 more words

2 thoughts on “Forgive Yourself

  1. Oh em gee. I woke up to your post about forgiving myself. I have been holding on to something….Unforgiveness for my father and now myself since he is no longer here. It stopped me from a lot of things in life. Especially loving another man fully. After two failed marriages, I realized that I was so unloving and so bitter with walls up that I had to go to God to get it that bitterness and Unforgiveness off me because it was so deep inside of me that letting go of past hurts wouldn’t let me get thru to my future happiness. I am still working thru it but I have love again and I don’t feel so angry. It still lingers but I don’t let Unforgiveness have such a strong hold of me anymore. It is truly a stumbling block,or obstacle to your destiny. Thanks for the post.

    • Sometimes we don’t realize (or understand) we’re holding on to anything, or that it’s holding us back. It is a blessing that you did. Continue to be kind to, and forgiving of yourself. You will prevail. God’s got this!

      Many thanks for stopping by and sharing your journey. Much respect.

Let me know you were here so I can return the visit!

