Using the Five Senses in Fiction, Part One: Sight & Sound

Monday is saved by another great post from Writers After Dark! Are you following them? Why not? Do it!

Writers After Dark

Five Senses Part One
Good writing is like enjoying a hot cup of chocolate on a snowy morning. It activates all your senses: sight, smell, touch, taste buds, and even sound. I was going to say it’s like sex, but this is a daytime gig, and my mommy reads this, so . . . hot chocolate anyone? 😛

As a writer, your job is to paint a vivid picture in the mind of your reader. Or as I like to think of it: download your vision into their brain. But since you lack a flash drive for that, you’ll have to rely on the five senses. And that’s all you need. I know this not because I’m a good writer, but because I’m a reader.

Our senses are pretty much the most powerful tool accessible to a writer. Each one is amazing in its own way, but combined they immerse the reader into the…

View original post 791 more words

One thought on “Using the Five Senses in Fiction, Part One: Sight & Sound

Let me know you were here so I can return the visit!

