“Never and Always (Emerson Book 6)” by Maureen Driscoll #Spotlight

A Few of My Favorite Things

Historical Romance Month continues this week on Nesie’s Place with the work of author Maureen Driscoll in the spotlight! Maureen shares her personal insights on books from two of her series, The Kellingtons and The Emersons. Also, THREE random commenters will win ebooks each day this week! Good times!

Originally, the Emerson series was supposed to end with the fifth book.  But while all the adults in the Kellington and Emerson families had found true love, there were three girls who I kept thinking about.  Violet Kellington, Letty Emerson and Anna Emerson had met and become great friends as children.  Then I wondered what it would be like to see them find true love while also revisiting their families at the same time.

NEVER AND ALWAYS is three, inter-connected novellas in one book about three boys who meet at Eton.  One is Letty’s half-brother, and he and the other boys meet the two families as a result.  This was an awful book to write because the three stories all connect at places, but I didn’t want to keep repeating myself.  As a reader I hate it when an author repeats something she just told you forty pages earlier.  So I tried to re-tell the story from different angles each time.  It involved a lot of re-reading and swearing while writing.

But I believe I can now leave the two families, though I do miss them.   I just wrote the first draft of a new series, which starts at the end of NEVER AND ALWAYS.  So, I’ll probably revisit the families in future books.

A final question…what is your pet peeve about romance books?  Do authors do specific things that make you nuts?  One of mine is definitely when they repeat themselves.

I’ve enjoyed my time this week.  Thank you for visiting with me!


Never and Always cover

“Never and Always (Emerson Book 6)”

Author: Maureen Driscoll

Genre: Historical Romance/Victorian/Holidays

Release Date: December 19, 2016

Amazon buttonGoodreads ButtonKindle Unlimited

Return to the world of the Kellington and Emerson families in this Regency romance collection of three novellas.

Leticia Emerson, Violet Kellington and Anna Emerson have been friends most of their lives. Little did they know a visit from three Eton school boys would change everyone’s lives for the better.

Fifteen-year-old Lord Wesley Addington has just learned he has a half-sister, Lady Leticia Emerson. Over the next decade, Violet Kellington falls in love with the man who only sees her as his sister’s friend.

Lord Robert Carmichael has been all but abandoned by his family due to his pronounced limp, and he doesn’t want to pass on his affliction to a child. Though he is determined not to marry, Letty Emerson sees only the brave man who fought through the pain of his illness and the scorn of his family.

Scholarship student Mark Jones is torn between two worlds: the London stews he was born into and the peers who will never accept him. Anna Emerson, who has an English father and a Native American mother, knows she has found her soul’s mate.

The book contains three intersecting novellas, touching on love, loss and acceptance. It revisits the Kellington and Emerson families, more than a decade after their stories concluded. It is a love letter from the author to the two families which have meant so much to her.

There are, of course, graphic sexual scenes, but surprisingly not that many of them.


Maureen DriscollDanielle Fishel calls Maureen Driscoll her “most favorite author of all things naughty and delicious.”

Maureen is a television writer based in Los Angeles whose credits include MADtv, Jimmy Kimmel Live, and Nickelodeon’s BrainSurge.  She was also a former recipient of a Walt Disney Studios screenwriting fellowship, where she wrote a romantic comedy based on her rather painful divorce.  The script didn’t make it to the big screen, but it did teach her a few things about happily ever after.

Before moving to Hollywood, Maureen spent nearly a decade working on Capitol Hill.  Her Dating Geroge Clooneynovel Dating George Clooney is a political satire inspired by those years.

She has written two Regency Romance series, one centered on the Kellington family and the other on the Emersons.  She is launching a third in 2017 called the Jasmine Cottage series and has also written a time travel romance set in America in the 1920s called The Tycoon Murderer, to be released later this year.  She can be found occasionally on Twitter at @MaureenDriscoll, slightly more frequently on Facebook at Maureen Driscoll Author and almost never on her blog at MaureenDriscollRomance.wordpress.com.



, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by kphoenix1 on May 19, 2017 - 9:05 pm

    Oh, I’m with you on the repeating. I guess they feel like the readers need reminders. It do get annoying. Another pet peeve I have is when they are TOO descriptive with words that we can’t get a grasp on what’s going on.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. #2 by Mo on May 19, 2017 - 12:48 pm

    An update on the importance of friends….I was having chest pains earlier this week and wasn’t sure if I was having a heart attack. My friends were great and assured me this is, basically, something which happens to everyone at one point once they pass 50. So it’s good to have friends who have been there and done that.

    Liked by 1 person

What say you?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: