Why We Compare Ourselves to Other Writers (and How We Can Stop)

EVERY writer should read this! 😉

A Writer's Path

by Lauren Sapala

For writers, there are two proven harmful effects of engaging in too much social media. (And let me say first that I’m guilty of overindulgence myself—it’s easy to start out with the intention of quickly checking Facebook and Twitter and then get sucked into a black hole and come out dazed and woozy on the other side.) But if you can keep these two harmful things in mind before you even go in, your chances of coming out unscathed are much better.

View original post 968 more words

12 thoughts on “Why We Compare Ourselves to Other Writers (and How We Can Stop)

  1. It’s true. Comparing does more harm than good. Besides, there are a lot of things to be grateful about instead of worrying and self-pitying. We’re all different with a different rizq 😉 . I love reading the post and thank you for sharing it!

  2. An interesting article and a concern taken up often now. We humans have a tendency to compare ourselves to others also in real life. How much happier we would be – just being.

    Don’t engage in social media unless there is an urgent reason, listen to your inner voice and trust it.
    Worth a try, isn’t it?
    Miriam

  3. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I have done this myself over and over again. Many ideas has turn to ashes because of my doubts in myself when I read another work that is better then mine.

Let me know you were here so I can return the visit!

