Where Are All the E-book Formatting Gurus??? #SOS


Help Bitmoji


Last fall when I published my debut novel, In the Best Interest of the Child, I had tons of folks checking in with suggestions and helpful advice about everything… except e-book formatting.

To make a LONG story short, I did it wrong—block style with spaces between the paragraphs. Judging Bitmoji

Stop judging me.

For months, no one said, “Why did you do that?”

But after reading countless blogs, websites and print books, I started thinking, “Maybe this isn’t right.”

So went out, got some help, reformatted and re-edited and uploaded a clean copy.

All’s right with the world!

Except it isn’t.

I deleted the book from my Kindle and downloaded another copy.

No BitmojiNo new format.

I went to the Amazon page and used the ‘Look Inside’ feature.

No new format.

But wait!

The screen blinked at me… and this situation just went paranormal because some of the new formatting was there.

I know something changed because the page count went from 310 to 239.

But wait—I’m not done. It gets better.

I did the same thing with Free, a Novella, only the page count went from 153 to 324. Um… it’s 36K in length.

Then I made the biggest mistake to date—I called Amazon.Bye Felicia Bitmoji

Burt sounded like Jake from State Farm… and like he wished he was at State Farm.  And was no help.

What am I doing wrong?

I can’t ignore my books and I can’t concentrate on anything else until I get this corrected.

Any and all suggestions are MUCH appreciated and I’d probably lose this facial twitch… and get up off the floor… and out of the fetal position.

Thank you!

I Give Up Bitmoji

6 thoughts on “Where Are All the E-book Formatting Gurus??? #SOS

  1. Omg, Felicia, I can only imagine you must be going nuts! What a dreadful experience! Before you uploaded your books, did you at them in the Kindle Previewer to be certain they were okay (i.e, no double spaces or blank pages)? It’s weird that one book would shrink and the other would almost double in size. Is there a glitch with the font sizes?

    I have three indie titles to my name and I formatted them myself using HTML. After that, I converted them to mobi using Calibre (a free software) and then uploaded to the Kindle Previewer before I made them live. The published copies were a match for what displayed in the Previewer.

    I wish I could be of more help. It’s a shame Amazon wasn’t more helpful 😦

    • OMG! Mae, I love you! I did NOT view the file in the online previewer… I simply downloaded a copy!

      Just viewed it…and saw the correct version! HOORAY!

      I hope that’s what people are getting! LOL!

      I feel better now! Many thanks! ❤ ❤ ❤

      • YAY! I’m so glad I could help! To be extra sure, download a copy from Amazon and email it to your Kindle address. That’s something else I always do, so I can see what those who purchase the book get 🙂

      • SUCCESS! Did that and the right copy is on my Kindle. Guess the purchased copy is being ghosted by the original. Will delete and restart and try that again. Many thanks again, Mae.

        Now, I have to figure out the issue with the other book…tomorrow! LOL! 😀

  2. Did you unpublish the old version before uploading the new? I think that may be where your problem arose. Otherwise I have nothing to add to what Mae said. I have four books on Kindle, one of which I reloaded earlier this year. I am not aware of any problem with the formatting.

    • I didn’t know “unpublish” was a thing, Frank!

      The file seems to be correct according to the online previewer, but I’ll definitely be on the alert before I upload my next book.

      Thanks for stopping by with suggestions! ❤

Let me know you were here so I can return the visit!

