Throwback Thursday: Does Your Book Need a Sequel?

A Writer's Path

Throwback Thursday is a series where we take a look back at some of AWP’s most popular posts. Enjoy!

by John Briggs

Should your book be part of a series or a stand-alone?

Creating sequels to books is big business these days. It’s the popular thing and profitable thing to do, spurred on by the tremendous success of series like Harry Potter. Authors now, more often than not, conceive their books from the very first draft as multi-part series of epic proportions to relay an immense tale of, one hopes, great meaning or enjoyment.

But does that really need to be the case? Should the book really have a sequel, or seven?

View original post 633 more words

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Does Your Book Need a Sequel?

  1. I know publishers like series work because it gives them built-in titles for the future. But if a story is done, it’s done. I personally have one novel that people liked the characters for so much, they keep asking if I’m doing a sequel. But I told that story. Unless inspiration strikes, it’s a one-and-done, and that’s fine by me. I hate it when I get invested in reading a series only to discover the later titles aren’t organic; they’re pale shadows of the original story world only created to extend the saga. I love to read series, but I’d much rather read a good single title and say goodbye than bad follow-ups that sour me on the author’s whole body of work.

    • EXACTLY!!!

      I was going to post a similar response on the post but decided not to because folks are so series-minded!

      Unfortunately, I’ve read some ‘forced’ continuations and they were little more than filler.

      There are few authors who are auto-buys for me for this very reason – the story is told in book 1, then subsequent books are rehashings, battle of the sexes, someone gets kidnapped, and someone has a baby! I’m over it! LOL!

      My first book has a part two simply because it was too long, but I still prefer standalones.

Let me know you were here so I can return the visit!

