Posts Tagged Animals

“If the S in Moose Comes Loose” by Peter Hermann


If the S in Moose Comes Loose

by Peter Hermann, Matthew Cordell (Illustrator)

Genre: Children’s Books/Humor/Animals

Spelling has never been so zany! When the S in MOOSE comes loose, Cow must find the missing letters and glue MOOSE back together! Perfect for fans of Michael Hall and Sandra Boynton.

Rollicking, clever, and a great way to have fun with letters, If the S in Moose Comes Loose is a seriously wild ride from start to finish.

When two of Moose’s letters come loose, he vanishes. Poof! But his best friend, Cow, has an idea: she’ll find a G, an L, a U, and an E and glue M-O-O-S-E back together, better than ever! But it’s not as easy as it sounds….

Author Peter Hermann is not only a debut picture book author, he also plays publisher Charles Brooks on TV Land’s hit show Younger. Matthew Cordell is the acclaimed author and illustrator of the 2018 Caldecott winner Wolf in the Snow and has written and/or illustrated dozens of other books for children.

If the S in MOOSE comes loose
and the E breaks free . . . what’s left?

Amazon Button



, , , ,

Leave a comment

“I’ve Loved You Since Forever” by Hoda Kotb


I’ve Loved You Since Forever

by Hoda Kotb, Suzie Mason (Illustrator)

Genre: Children’s Books/Facts of Life/Adoption/Animals


I’ve Loved You Since Forever is a celebratory and poetic testament to the timeless love felt between parent and child. This beautiful picture book is inspired by New York Times bestselling author and Today show co-anchor Hoda Kotb’s heartwarming adoption of her baby girl, Haley Joy.

With Kotb’s lyrical text and stunning pictures by Suzie Mason, young ones and parents will want to snuggle up and read the pages of this book together, over and over again.

In the universe,

there was you and

there was me,

waiting for the day our

stars would meet. . .

Amazon Button


, , , , , ,

Leave a comment

Women Writers… writing | Stephanie Pitcher Fishman

Author Stephanie Pitcher Fishman is a writer, a blogger, and a mom to children born 20 years apart. She is an avid reader with a coffee addiction and is owned by two cats despite being a dog person.

Her work includes fiction based on family history like the best-selling Finding Eliza, easy-to-use research guides for both new and experienced genealogists, and a brand-new picture book series for young children called Lola’s Adventures.

Stephanie is currently writing an upcoming cozy mystery series titled With Love, Your Dead Aunt that’s filled with quirky, humorous characters and adventures. She is also a top writer on the subjects of mental health, health, and more on To read her articles, find her at

To receive a free book and more, subscribe at


Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Instagram     |     Pinterest



Lola Dreams of the Zoo: An Adventure Through Rhyme and Art: (Rhyming Art and Animal Bedtime Story for Kids) (Lola’s Adventures)

By Stephanie Pitcher Fishman

Genre: Children’s Books/Children’s Nonfiction/Animals/Zoos

Join Lola as she dreams about her favorite animals in the zoo! Full-color illustrations introduce young children to the world of abstract art while educating and entertaining them.

Lola Dreams of the Zoo tells a fun tale of 11 different zoo animals. Additional extras include a short lesson in abstract art and fun links for kids to explore with their parents to learn more about the animals mentioned in the book.

And, the author includes a link to receive special book bonuses like coloring pages!

As a mother to children twenty years apart, author Stephanie Pitcher Fishman understands how important positive, enriching, and educating books are to a child’s development. In her first children’s book series, she focuses on introducing young children to the world around them through rhyme, art, and animals.

Amazon KU~~~~~

coverLola Visits the Farm: An Adventure Through Story and Art: Art and Animal Bedtime Story for Kids (Lola’s Adventures Book 2)

by Stephanie Pitcher Fishman

Genre: Children’s Books/Children’s Nonfiction/Farm Animals

Visit the baby animals with Lola! Experience your own trip to the farm through full-color illustrations. Educate and entertain children through story and art.

Each page of Lola Visits the Farm contains beautiful artwork in a realistic style that helps engage children in the story. Conversation points between Lola and her dad make it easy to continue the discussion with your child.

As a mother to children twenty years apart, author Stephanie Pitcher Fishman understands how important positive, enriching, and educating books are to a child’s development. In her new children’s series, Lola’s Adventures, she focuses on introducing young children to the world around them through various styles of story and art.

Included are extras such as a “Words to Know” page and a link to receive special book bonuses like coloring pages!

Fun for any age, this read aloud is the perfect length for a bedtime story. It will also help introduce new readers to the structure of story and dialog.

Read it FREE as part of your PRIME or Kindle Unlimited membership.

Don’t miss Lola Dreams of the Zoo, the first story in the series that tells a fun tale of 11 different zoo animals through rhyme and abstract art.

Amazon KU

, , , ,

Leave a comment

“Charlie the Ranch Dog: Charlie’s Snow Day (I Can Read Level 1)” by Ree Drummond

Charlie the Ranch Dog cover

Charlie the Ranch Dog: Charlie’s Snow Day (I Can Read Level 1)

by Ree Drummond

Genre: Children’s Books/Beginning Reader/Animals

Ree Drummond (also known as The Pioneer Woman) and Charlie the Ranch Dog return in this snow-filled I Can Read title.

When Charlie wakes up to a world covered in snow, he can’t wait to go outside. He even takes a break from patrol duty to go sledding with his friends Walter and Sister. But when Walter goes missing, it’s up to Charlie to take control of the situation and bring his buddy back.

Charlie the Ranch Dog stars in bestselling author Ree Drummond’s I Can Read title, just right for reading on your own snowy day! Charlie’s Snow Day is a Level One I Can Read book, which means it’s perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences.

Amazon button


, , ,


“The Lost Macaw” by B.L. Blair

The Lost Macaw cover

The Lost Macaw is the fourth novella in the Lost and Found Pets series.

Alexandra Prescott is a licensed private investigator specializing in finding missing animals. Reuniting pet and owner is more than just a job.

A former client hires Alex to find her lost parrot. The bright colored bird has flown away before, but this time there is evidence that Molly was kidnapped. The demand is simple—the bird for the pictures.

When her client suffers a stroke, Alex is left with a ransom note, a missing bird, and some very incriminating photos. She is in a race against time to solve the mystery of the lost Macaw.


“Your little old lady is quite interesting, Alex,” Halie said.

“What do you mean?”

“She didn’t exist until about thirty years ago.”


“I did a preliminary background search on her. In general, she is clean. No debt. The house is paid off as is her car. The one thing that jumped out at me was the fact that she had a safe deposit box at four different banks.”

Luke raised one eyebrow. I got a sinking feeling. I had noted the bank accounts but hadn’t really given them much thought.

“Yeah,” I said, “I saw those.”

“So why does an eighty-year-old woman need four safe deposit boxes?”

“Why does she need more than one?” Luke muttered.

“Exactly,” Halie said. “So I dug a little deeper.”

“What did you find?”

“About thirty years ago, Joseph and Trudy Kearns purchased the house on Carriage. Back then, it was a new neighborhood, and the prices were cheap. They paid cash. They also opened a bank account, and Joe got a job working for the city. Those are the first records I can find for either one of them.”

“Trudy would have been fifty at that time. Her husband probably a few years older. What about birth certificates? Social security cards?”

“They had them, but conveniently, they were issued from a small county in Virginia where a massive flood destroyed all their records. The county office was in the process of moving the old paper records to electronic when the flood hit.”

“Let me guess. The Kearns’s records did not survive the flood.”


“So the only records for them are the ones they had in their possession.” I paused a moment. “Do they look real?”

“Yes,” Halie replied.

“So they could be authentic.”

“Or really good forgeries. In some ways, it was easier back then.”

“Anything else?” I asked.

“Not really. Lives on a fixed income of social security and a small pension from her husband’s job. It isn’t much because he only worked for the city for twelve years before he had to retire.”

“Okay, thanks Halie.”

After ending the call, I looked at Luke. He had a perplexed look on his face that I had a feeling mirrored mine.

“Who the hell is Trudy Kearns?”


Available on Amazon, Nook, iBooks, Kobo, and Smashwords.

, , , ,

Leave a comment

“Viola Avenue (Rose Hill Book 9)” by Pamela Grandstaff

Viola Avenue cover

“Viola Avenue (Rose Hill Book 9)

Genre: Women’s Fiction/Women Sleuths/Cozy

Release Date: October 23, 2016

Amazon KU

When Claire Fitzpatrick discovers the lifeless body of a new friend, she suspects murder rather than the accident it appears to be. When a new job takes her to the campus of Eldridge College, the college administration seems more concerned with covering up scandalous events than revealing the truth.

With the help of Police Chief Scott Gordon, and her cousins, Hannah and Maggie, Claire is determined to find out who killed her friend and why. What she discovers, however, is that he was not the person she thought he was, and there are multiple suspects with motives for murder.

It’s September, and Hannah Campbell has her hands full wrangling her four-year-old son, Sammy, a wild thing that does not want to be tamed. Now that he’s starting preschool, he’s expected to follow the rules and stay in school. Meanwhile, Hannah is tangling with dangerous beasts, one of whom is her husband’s ex-fiancée.

, , , ,

Leave a comment

“Runny Babbit Returns” by Shel Silverstein

Runny Babbit

“Runny Babbit Returns”

Genre: Children’s Books/Animals/Humor

Release Date: September 19, 2017

Amazon Button

Runny Babbit, the lovable star of Shel Silverstein’s New York Times bestselling poetry book, is back!

Runny Babbit Returns, a collection of 41 never-before-published poems and drawings, features Runny and other woodland characters who speak a topsy-turvy language all their own.

This carefully compiled work from the Silverstein archives is filled with spoonerism poems that are both playful and poignant. With tongue-twisting word play and uproarious characters, the endearingly befuddled Runny Babbit and his friends embody Shel Silverstein’s singular style, the one we all know and love.

Fans of all ages won’t want to miss their chance to follow their favorite Runny in this book of laugh-out-loud adventures!


, , ,

Leave a comment